NPW

National Prevention Week May 8-14 & SAMHSA's Prevention Day May 9

Publication Date: May 03, 2022
2022 SAMHSA National Prevention Week Web Banner

National Prevention Week (NPW) is a national public education platform bringing together communities and organizations to raise awareness about the importance of substance use prevention and positive mental health.

About National Prevention Week

 

NPW video

 

Watch “Get Involved With National Prevention Week 2022!” (1 minute, 12 seconds) in English or Spanish

 

Each year, National Prevention Week includes daily themes to focus on major substance use and mental health topics.

 

The 2022 daily themes are:

Monday, May 9: Strengthening Community Resilience: Substance Misuse and Overdose Prevention

Tuesday, May 10: Preventing Substance Use and Promoting Mental Health in Youth

Wednesday, May 11: Preventing Suicide: Everyone Plays a Role

Thursday, May 12: The Talent Pipeline: Enhancing the Prevention Workforce

Friday, May 13: Prevention is Everywhere: Highlighting Efforts Across Settings and Communities

Saturday, May 14: Celebrating Prevention Heroes

 

National Prevention Week Promotional Materials

 

SPD

 

 

SAMHSA Prevention Day Agenda

 

Highlighted events:

 

Join Us for Social Marketing 101 and Prevention

Looking for evidence-based, audience-focused strategies to advance your prevention work? You’ve come to the right place! Social marketing can help you be more strategic in educating people in your community about the importance of prevention, engaging new partners, and calling your audience to action in building a healthier community.

You don’t want to miss “Social Marketing 101 and Prevention.” The session will feature insights, examples, and practical advice from seasoned social marketing experts and SAMHSA prevention specialists. You’ll walk away with resources to help you get started and move forward!

Mark your calendars for Monday, May 9, 2022, from 12:15 pm to 1:15 pm EST (10:15 to 11:15 am MST/11:15 am to 12:15 pm CST).

 

Prevention is working! Learn about Communities Talk 2021 Success Stories during National Prevention Week.

More than 1,000 communities participated in the most recent Communities Talk to Prevent Underage Drinking activities. Despite the COVID-19 pandemic and other challenges, these communities kept the focus on helping youth and young adults avoid substance misuse, while making positive choices for themselves every day. Join us to hear “real life” success stories as Communities Talk organizers share lessons learned and showcase the diversity of prevention efforts taking place in communities across the country. You also will learn about the tools and resources available through stopalcoholabuse.gov that can support your own prevention activity planning.

Mark your calendars for Tuesday, May 10, 2022, from 2 pm to 3 pm (12 – 1 pm MST/ 1-2 pm CST).