Scope of Prevention 5-Part Webinar Series

Scope of Prevention Webinar Series

 

Learn About Prevention Along the Continuum of Care

The purpose of this webinar series is to illustrate some of the prevention strategies and interventions used to avert substance-use before it occurs, to reduce the impact once is has occurred, as well as to discuss some strategies for preventing relapse in treatment and during maintenance/recovery. The five stages of the Institute of Medicine’s (IOM) behavioral health continuum of care: universal prevention, selective prevention, indicated prevention, treatment and maintenance (recovery) and promotion will be highlighted and discussed.


Universal Community and School-Based Prevention Interventions

Alexa Wrench, CHES

Tuesday, August 13, 2019 @ 11:00 am MT(10:00 PT/12:00 CT/1:00 ET)

This webinar will use the experience of one prevention services provider as a model to discuss universal prevention strategies and the differences between school-based and community-based universal prevention programs. Participants will explore how the Strategic Prevention Framework can be used to identify needs within the community and to select evidence-based interventions, as well as how to engage the community to participate.

Register Now


Selective and Indicated School-Based Prevention Interventions

Aaron Fischer, PhD, BCBA-D

Tuesday, August 20, 2019 @ 11:00 am MT(10:00 PT/12:00 CT/1:00 ET)

This webinar will discuss prevention efforts for students who are at risk or currently use substances or have mental health issues. Topics will include therapeutic options ranging from group therapy, individual counseling, and are informed by screening and progress monitoring of pertinent data.

Register Now


Preventing Relapse by Providing Comprehensive Oral Health Care with Substance Use Disorder Treatment

Glen Hanson, PhD, DDS

Wednesday, August 28, 2019 @ 1:00 pm MT(12:00 PT/2:00 CT/3:00 ET)

Course Description:  The University of Utah School of Dentistry has demonstrated an important role for oral health in managing SUD patients by identifying dramatic increases in treatment length of stay for these patients and their ability to obtain employment, as well as a decrease in their homelessness and drug use, by providing comprehensive dental care as an integrated part of their drug problem management. This course will highlight this program and provide discussion of research, findings and implications in the continuum of treatment.

Register Now


Mamas, Munchkins, and Methamphetamines - Evidence-Based Prevention Interventions for Pregnant Women Using Stimulants

Marcela C. Smid, MD, MS, MA

Tuesday, September 10, 2019 @ 11:00 am MT(10:00 PT/12:00 CT/1:00 ET)

Dr. Smid will provide an overview of evidence-based interventions for pregnant women using stimulants, including methamphetamine. Included in her presentation will be a brief overview of the epidemiology of stimulant-use disorder. She will also review sex and gender differences in methamphetamine use and development of stimulant-use disorder.

Register Now


Promotion - Media-Based Prevention Interventions Along the Continuum of Care

Holly Riker

Thursday, September 19, 2019 @ 11:00 am MT(10:00 PT/12:00 CT/1:00 ET)

Holly will present on various important components to implementing a successful prevention media campaign, including: important differences between commercial marketing vs. health marketing; the importance of understanding your audience and how different generations receive information. Additionally, she will talk about inclusion and collaboration; how to determine if your campaign is working; and ways to sustain your campaign efforts.

Register Now