Back to event listing

Webinar: Identifying Culturally Relevant and Effective Substance Use Prevention Programs for Tribal Communities: One Example from Washington State

2:00pm - August 19, 2019 | Timezone: US/Pacific
Northwest PTTC
Registration Deadline: August 19, 2019
Need more information?
Contact us at clamyuen@casat.org

 

Emerging Topics In Prevention Science Media Series


Date & Time:

August 19, 2019

Alaska: 1:00 PM – 2:30 PM
Pacific: 2:00 PM – 3:30 PM
Mountain: 3:00 PM – 4:30 PM

 

Audience:

Community and state-level prevention practitioners, allied health partners and community members, working to prevent substance misuse.

 

Description:

Although the rationale for directing limited resources toward “evidence-based” programs is sound, it also presents challenges – especially for American Indian communities where substance abuse prevention resources are critically needed, and yet research is greatly lacking. This webinar will discuss: 1) how best to balance research evidence, cultural relevance, and community needs for selecting evidence-based substance use prevention programs, and 2) how this approach has been applied in Washington State through a collaborative effort between policymakers, researchers, and tribal communities to identify effective substance use prevention programs.