Doctors viewing brain scan

Traumatic Brain Injury and Opioid Overdose: An Unrecognized Relationship

Publication Date: Aug 09, 2019

TBI-Related Risk Factors for Opioid Overdose

Free webinar 
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
10:00 a.m. EDT, 9:00 a.m. CDT, 8:00 a.m. MDT, 7:00 a.m. PDT
Register

Indiana logo Research has shown that over half of patients who experience a Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) develop chronic pain as a consequence of their injury. To combat the chronic pain, many of these patients are started on an opioid medication, but are 11 times more likely to overdose on that opioid than the general population. This webcast, hosted by the Indiana State Department of Health, will review the TBI-related risk factors for opioid misuse, as well as new resources and prescribing guidelines for providers to decrease the risk of misuse and overdose in this patient population.

Hosted by the Indiana State Department of Health, Division of Trauma and Injury Prevention