US Navy

Title: Certified Prevention Specialist

Examination: Pass IC&RC/AODA Prevention Specialist written exam.

References / Recommendations: Favorable recommendation by Chain of Command and Prevention Supervisor/Preceptor. 

Educational / Training Requirements: Verification of 120 Hours of prevention specific training across the 6 domains. 60 hours of this training must be specific ATOD training and six (6) hours must be prevention specific ethics education. 

Prevention Experience: Verification of one-year/2,000 hours of ATOD prevention experience across the 6 domains. 

Supervised Prevention Experience:

Verification of 120 hours of supervised experience. This supervised experience must consist of a minimum 10 hours in each of the six (6) domains: 

  • Planning and Evaluation 
  • Prevention Education and Service Delivery 
  • Communication 
  • Community Organization 
  • Public Policy and Environmental Change 
  • Professional Growth and Responsibility

Code of Ethics: Adherence to the Code of Ethics for Prevention Professionals through a signed statement.

Recertification Requirements: Either 60 ATOD Prevention related Continuing Education Hours (CEH) in 3 years or 2 (two) upper level ATOD prevention related 3-semester-hour college courses.

Certification & Licensing Board: United States Navy Certification Board (USNCB) mailto:[email protected]

Copyright © 2024 Prevention Technology Transfer Center (PTTC) Network